Mrs. Wilson\’s Inspired Classroom


My PLN (Personal Learning Network)

Posted in Announcements by mrswilson on March 31, 2010

In addition to the professional library that I’m building, I am also a member of two educational websites and follow several educational blogs.  Choice Literacy is an incredible website that is full of information on the latest methods in literacy instruction.  Some of the articles are free, but the best ones require a membership fee.  I’ve never regretted the $99 I spent last January for my membership and will happily give Choice Literacy another $99 this coming January.  I love being able to learn from awesome educators!  The best part about being a member of this website is that I can learn from them at my convenience.  As long as I have a computer and internet, I’m good to go.

Some of my favorite blogs are listed below.  I follow these using my Google Reader account.  These bloggers keep me up to date on the latest in teaching reading and writing and reviews newly published literature.

Two Writing Teachers – fabulous blog about teaching writing.  A must for all teachers

Raising Readers and Writers – great website that will stretch your thinking about the way you teach

Creative Literacy – this blog has a little bit of everything – technology tools in the classroom, reviews of newly published childrens books and professional books

Best Book I have not Read – contains reviews for newly published children’s books, lesson plans and reviews of professional books

I also follow several literacy leaders on Twitter.  I don’t know these people personally, but I have learned so much from them!

http://twitter.com/thereadingzone

http://twitter.com/Franki22

http://twitter.com/katiedicesare

There you have it – my  PLN (Personal Lerning Network).  I’ve learned as much from the websites, blogs and Tweets as I have in formal sit-down professional development.

Leave a comment