Mrs. Wilson\’s Inspired Classroom


The Beginning Of Our Writing Journey

Posted in Announcements by mrswilson on September 30, 2009

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this journey in the small, rural school district called Guthrie.  After all, this would be my first time teaching all grade levels, my first time teaching just writing and my first time teaching in an elementary school whose total student enrollment falls just shy of 60. 

Let’s just say that I haven’t been disappointed.  Every day these kids surprise me, impress me and make me laugh.  Their writing is authentic and their stories are rooted in their everyday lives – just as they should be.  They have thoroughly enjoyed introducing me to life on a ranch and I have thoroughly enjoyed helping them craft their stories.  They’ve come so far as writers this first six weeks.  It’s exciting knowing that we have 8 more months of working together.  

Our published writing is on our blog, so be sure to check out the “podcast” page to hear the stories the students at Guthrie Elementary school wrote.   We also published our writing digitally and you can view those on each grade level’s published work page. 

If you are so inclined, we would love to hear your comments about our writing.  You can write a comment on either the podcast page or the publication page.  All comments go to a “holding” area for me to approve, so it may take 24 hours to appear on the blog.

2 Responses to 'The Beginning Of Our Writing Journey'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Beginning Of Our Writing Journey'.

  1. Loralee said,

    Mrs. Wilson,

    Thank you for sharing your lesson plans.

    So you teach a Writer’s Workshop to Grade 5… 3 times a week for 40 minutes?

  2. mrswilson said,

    I’m glad you find the lesson plans helpful. I do only have my 5th graders for 3 days/week. Their 5th grade teacher wanted them for grammar, so we agreed on that split.


Leave a Reply

